top of page

Race Across the World (2020) REVIEW - 💎💎💎

(May Contain Spoilers)


You may have seen my series 1 review >>HERE<<, but the concept is practically the same, 5 teams of 2 travel across the world to win £20,000 but cannot travel by plane. This means the couples must travel by bus, train or on foot, but this way they get to see the wonders of the world checking in at different check points before reaching their final destination! In the first season I was hooked, because they travelled from the UK all the way to Singapore (the furthest city by train or bus), which meant travelling through countries like Thailand, China, and France. This season the competitors travel from Mexico City to Ushuaia (the most southernly country in South America) seeing them travel through Brazil, Chile, and Argentina.

Despite the locations being different I didn’t find this season quite as engaging as the last and I think that was because of the casting. Last season I was really invested in most of the couples and this season I liked maybe one! I didn’t think that they were entertaining more at times really annoying if anything, but on the other-hand quite realistic and relatable as it wasn’t always sunshine and rainbows. Additionally, in series one at check point 3/6 a couple was eliminated if they were last and I think that should have continued throughout that season, but also there was nothing like that this season. Having said that two couples did step down as one lost their money wallet so could not continue the journey with no money and the other ran out of money. I would have liked an elimination, because last season that was more competition out of the competitors.

This season, however, there were more drama’s, Jen and Rob a married couple kept bickering, Lizzie and Dom who were siblings and because of altitude sickness and other conditions Dom had a seizure. The mother and son duo, Jo and Sam were my favourites because she was the most loving person and it was revealed in the latest catch up episode that she has had to go back into chemo treatment again, which is so sad. It goes without saying that I wanted Jo and Sam to win, however because of money issues they had to withdraw, therefore uncle and nephew, Emon and Jamiul won.


I preferred series one based on the destinations and the cast as season two was missing the added eliminations that made season 1 even more exciting. I look forward to seeing what they do with season three and hopefully there would be one with COVID, and I wonder where they would travel to! Wanderlust, excitement, and trauma.

Stream series 1 & 2 on BBC iPlayer Now.


0 views0 comments

Commenti


bottom of page