top of page
  • Julia Johnson

Poppies at Polly Joke, Everything You Need to Know Before You Visit!

When I was on Instagram, I saw a picture pop up of these poppies that were in Cornwall and as poppies are my favourite flower, I just thought I needed to find them. Yesterday I went exploring to find the Poppies of Polly Joke and I was shocked with how busy it was!

I’ll be honest when I saw these pictures on Instagram I thought

"Wow a whole field of my favourite flowers with the coastal landscape of Cornwall!"

However, when I got there, I was a little underwhelmed as I thought the poppies would have been taller being wild poppies, but they were pretty much ground level.

It was still great to explore another piece off Cornwall, but I would just make sure that you have these expectations when going to visit.

 

The Route

There are two carparks that we found, one was coins only and the other was a Bowgie Inn and the machine took cards, which was ideal for us and there was also a toilet! The carparks are less than a minute from one another, but I would recommend the Bowgie Inn more because the other was on a hill but did have more spaces.

â“… Charges Apply All Year Round

  • 1 Hour - £1

  • 4 Hours - £2

  • Till 10am Next Day - £5 (or £10 for Vans)

ⓦⒸ There is one toilet in the Bowgie Inn carpark.


There is a National Trust carpark by Crantock, which is only for members as I tried parking there before when I didn’t have a membership. The National Trust carpark is a further walk away, but if you could spend a nice afternoon walking the coastal path to Polly Joke.

 

Where Can You Find The Poppies?


Look for This Sign:

It is on your right-hand side walking up from Bowgie Inn or straight in from off you if you walk out of the other carpark.

TOP TIP: If it has been raining it is worth taking Wellies! I took sandals and regretted it I didn’t realise it was going to be as muddy as it was!

There are multiple fields with Poppies in down this stretch, however only one field you are able to walk through, which takes you down to Polly Joke beach. The walk is about 5-10 minutes...depending how long you take looking at the poppies and taking pictures! Like me🙄.

 

What Is There To Do Once You’re At Polly Joke?


Sea Swim

This seemed a calm beach and was very warm for June waters!

Beach BBQ

Why not pitch up your towels and beach tents and have a sunset beach BBQ? A mostly sandy beach with some broken shell/pebble sections.


Go Cave Exploring

There were a few caves on Polly Joke and we went and explored a few, but some require you to have suitable clothing and shoes, which I did not! So, I didn’t get very far, maybe you will do better than I did!

Take Pictures!

You have to take picture for the ‘gram whilst you’re here! The poppies are an obvious photo opportunity, but also if you have the more costal route back to the car it will takes you heights above sea level where you can get a great capture of the landscape that goes on for miles!

 

I hope you have fun exploring Polly Joke and If you do (or have) visited please drop a comment and let me know your experience!


49 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page