top of page

The Boys (2019) REVIEW - 💎💎💎

(May Contain Spoilers)


This series was a slow burner for me, I was recommended it time and time again on my stories, in my DMs and in person! So, I thought I would just HAVE to watch it. I enjoyed the concept of bad superheroes, but it was much more than that, FAKE superheros and a gang trying to bring them to justice. I thought some of the casting was great and other parts were so seriously WRONG, I thought that Hughie (Jack Quaid) looked like a completely different age in most of the scenes. I did however love Billy Butcher’s (Karl Urban) character, it was very Brad Pitt in Snatch and I loved the sarcasm. I wouldn’t say that the series would be wholly original in terms of tone, however by the end I did really enjoy myself and look forward to series 2 out in September.

Hughie is picked up by his girlfriend from work and on a casual stroll home she is run over, but not by a car, by a very FAST MAN! Billy approaches Hughie to tell him he can get revenge because a similar thing happened to his wife. Meanwhile, Annie/Starlight (Erin Moriarty) has been recruited to join the Vought 7, a league of superheroes. By chance Hughie and Annie meet and later in the series start dating, but after she finds out Hughie is part of ‘The Boys’ group trying to bring down the superheroes it doesn’t end well. Back at Vought HQ, Outlander (Antony Starr) is scheming to get the 7 into congress and to be used to fight crime around the world, but is creating crime to prove the world needs superheroes, this is supported however by Madelyn (Elisabeth Shue) who is on her way up the ladder in the organisation.


The series also reveals that the superheroes are made from a substance called V, which means that they are injected with a serum when they are babies, which makes them super they aren’t born super! The boys try to expose this information, but Billy only wants Outlander dead as he believes he rapped and killed his wife, however that also turns out not to be true as his wife is very much alive and was pregnant but was paid off by the volt to have the baby and stay hidden, this is revealed and the end of the season, which was the most shocking thing!


There series also features a lot of toxic relationships, one including Outlander and Madelyn who lets him pretend to suck on her tits like a baby and also has sex with him! I thought the tone of this series and the humour was spot on, if felt a little like Deadpool (2016) to me, but it is based on a comic book so I can see how that might align. This series was a slow burner for me but once you invest into the characters and the concept it is a breeze. Comical, Dangerous and Exciting.

Watch Season 1 on Amazon Prime.


2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page